Skip to main content
Not Found
Live Webcast Replay

The Civil Advantage: Ethics and Civility in Disquieting Times


Total Credits: 2 including 2 Global

Average Rating:
   1
Competency/Category:
Human Resource Development |  Ethical Practice
Faculty:
Diane White, MBA, CPA, CMA
Course Level:
Intermediate
License:
Access for 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

*****THIS COURSE IS ELIGIBLE FOR HRCI ETHICS CREDITS*****

Most people dislike capricious judgment, intolerance, crime, shaming, blaming, punishing, unequal treatment and predatory opportunism. Yet we witness, hear about or directly experience one or more of these uncivil behaviors daily. What’s going on?

It used to be that when incivility in our home, neighborhood, schools, or community spaces harmed us, we counted on shared ethical norms to guide and help. We confidently relied on societal guardrails like the law, regulations or corporate policies for fair remedy.

But can we still? These days it sometimes feels like up is down, down is up, right is wrong, wrong is right, the sun rises in the west and sets in the east. Even our ethical compass doesn’t seem as reliable as it used to.

We’re not crazy to feel unanchored or anxious. Americans live in a moment when our constitutional federal republic and Western ethics face enormous challenge from those who would prefer a different construct.

Desiring change is one thing, but abandoning civility in its pursuit results in ethical chaos, societal breakdown, and individual misery. This holds true for human groups small and large, from the family to the federal government. 

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Understand how ethics and civility entwine
  • Recognize civility’s basis and proven value
  • Put today’s civility problem in perspective
  • Reflect on factors fueling incivility
  • Review enduring universal rules for civility

Major Subjects
  • Civility
  • Ethics 

Course Materials

Faculty

Diane White, MBA, CPA, CMA Related seminars and products


Diane D. WhiteMBA, CPA, CMA, is a finance and accounting executive with 39 years of control and business leadership expertise in both large and small for-profit and non-profit corporations.  She served several Fortune 50 corporations as Division Controller for 25 years before becoming a CFO for nonprofits and small businesses.  Diane recently retired as CFO of Workforce Resource, a nationwide mortgage finance service provider.  She and her husband Jim reside in Beaufort, SC where she enjoys volunteer work, teaching, consulting, writing, and a wide array of Lowcountry outdoor pleasures.


Dates

Tue, Dec 06, 2022 - 02:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Sat, Dec 24, 2022 - 12:00pm to 01:51pm EST
Tue, Jan 10, 2023 - 07:00pm to 08:51pm EST
Fri, Jan 20, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:51am EST
Sat, Jan 21, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:51pm EST
Thu, Feb 02, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Wed, Feb 15, 2023 - 04:00pm to 05:51pm EST
Mon, Mar 13, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:51am EDT
Sat, Mar 18, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:51pm EDT
Thu, Mar 30, 2023 - 07:00pm to 08:51pm EDT
Mon, Apr 10, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Fri, Apr 28, 2023 - 04:00pm to 05:51pm EDT
Tue, May 16, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:51am EDT
Sat, May 27, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:51pm EDT
Tue, May 30, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Wed, Jun 07, 2023 - 04:00pm to 05:51pm EDT
Sat, Jun 17, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:51am EDT
Tue, Jun 27, 2023 - 07:00pm to 08:51pm EDT
Wed, Jun 28, 2023 - 04:00pm to 05:51pm EDT
Wed, Jul 05, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:51am EDT
Thu, Jul 20, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:51pm EDT
Thu, Aug 10, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:51am EDT
Sat, Aug 19, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:51pm EDT
Wed, Aug 30, 2023 - 07:00pm to 08:51pm EDT
Tue, Sep 05, 2023 - 04:00pm to 05:51pm EDT
Thu, Sep 21, 2023 - 10:00pm to 11:51pm EDT
Thu, Oct 05, 2023 - 07:00pm to 08:51pm EDT
Thu, Oct 19, 2023 - 04:00pm to 05:51pm EDT
Sat, Nov 04, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:51am EDT
Fri, Nov 10, 2023 - 12:00pm to 01:51pm EST
Thu, Nov 30, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Mon, Dec 04, 2023 - 04:00pm to 05:51pm EST
Thu, Dec 14, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:51am EST
Tue, Dec 19, 2023 - 07:00pm to 08:51pm EST
Fri, Dec 29, 2023 - 12:00am to 01:51am EST

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites None
Advanced Preparation None
Designed For HR Professionals
Course Developer

Executive Education, Inc


Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy Please contact Jessica Vieira with any complaints at jessica.vieira@acpen.com, (617-519-6790).
Course Registration Requirements Online Registration
Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based 


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the HREN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@HREducationNetwork.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


SHRM Accreditation Information HR Education Network is recognized by SHRM to offer SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP professional development credits (PDCs). This program is valid for PDCs. See the course registration page for more information on number of credits and credit types.  For more information about certification or recertification, please visit shrmcertification.org
HRCI Accreditation Information HR Education Network is a recognized provider of recertification credits. HR Certification Institute® pre-approved this program for credits towards aPHRTM, PHR®, PHRca®, SPHR®, GPHR®, PHRiTM and SPHRiTM recertification.  See the course registration page for more information on number of credits and credit types.  

Promo Video

Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      5

Total Reviews: 1

Please wait ...

Back to Top